National Competition



34 films are selected among the 400 received for the National Competition: 

  • Adieu la chair! - Yohan Guignard
  • Capote percée - Adriana da Fonseca
  • Deer Boy - Katarzyna Gondek
  • Dispersion - Nikita Trocki
  • Eastpak - Jean-Benoit Ugeux
  • Girlhood - Heleen Declercq
  • Icare - Nicolas Boucart
  • Iris après la nuit - Gabriel Vanderpas
  • Jacotolocotoc - Thomas Secaz
  • Kaniama Show - Baloji Tshiani
  • KL - William Henne & Yann Bonnin
  • La Grande Vacance - Salomé Richard
  • La station - Patrick Ridremont
  • Lâchez les chiens - Manue Fleytoux
  • Le Pérou - Marie Kremer
  • Les Naufragés - Mathieu Mortelmans & Cécile Delberghe
  • Les Yeux Fermés - Léopold Legrand
  • Lost in the middle - Senne Dehandschutter
  • Make Aliens Dance - Sébastien Petretti
  • Out of the blue, into the black - Mark Bouwmeester & Nik Dekeyser
  • Pharmakos - Laura Vandewynckel
  • Puzzle - Olivier Pairoux
  • Qui ne dit mot - Stéphane De Groodt
  • Remise - Deben Van Dam
  • Si tu étais dans mes images - Lou Colpé
  • Si-G - Frederike Migom
  • Simbiosis Carnal - Rocio Alvarez
  • The Day The Dogs Disappeared - Ruth Mellaerts et Boris Kuijpers
  • The Glorious Peanut - Fred de Loof & Fred Labeye
  • The Voice Over - Claudia Cortés Espejo, Lora D'Addazio & Mathilde Remy
  • Timing - Marie Gillain
  • Vihta - François Bierry
  • Wildebeest - Nicolas Keppens & Matthias Phlips
  • You're lost little girl - Cédric Bourgeois

The films of the national competition compete for the following prizes: 

The National 'Grand Prix'
€2500 offered by the SACD
15 000 € in services offered by Eye Lite, KGS, The Fridge and Chocolat Noisette

The Brussels Short Film Festival is now an Oscar® Qualifying Film Festival. The winner of the National 'Grand Prix' will be eligible for consideration in the Animated Short Film / Live Action Short Film category of the Academy Awards® without the standard theatrical run, provided the film otherwise complies with the Academy rules.

The 'Fédération Wallonie-Bruxelles' Award
€2500 offered by the 'Federation Wallonie-Bruxelles' for a Franch speaking Belgian film

Best Actress
€1000 offered by the 'Commune of Ixelles'

Best Actor
€1000 offered by the 'Commune of Ixelles'

The ‘Critic UPCB/UCC' Award
with Cinevox

The Audience Award
€1000 offered by the Sabam

The Be TV Award
The acquisition of broadcasting rights by BE Tv

Prix CANAL+ France
The acquisition of broadcasting rights by Canal + France
The films of the International Competition and Next Generation also compete for this prize.

Prix de RTBF-La Trois
The acquisition of broadcasting rights by RTBF-LaTrois
The Beglian films in Next Generation also compete for this prize.